Skip to content

Running a Con

edited December 2021 in News

No I don't mean con as in con-man, I mean running a game at a convention. An acquaintance asked for some advice about running a con game. Suddenly I realized that I had advice to offer.

I've been running a few games at several cons a year since 2009. I could offer a lot of general GM advice, but I will try to keep things fairly con specific. First if you are thinking of running a con game you are officially awesome. Yes you. And when you run it you will be doubleplus awesome. It is a lot of fun, gets you out of your comfort zone, and let's you see how other people play.

On to the advice:

1. You don't always get a full table.

What's more sometimes you may not have enough players to run your session. This probably won't happen, but it does happen, so do be prepared for that.

2. Get a sense of the players familiarity with the RPG you are running.

Familiarity with both the game your running and RPG's in general. Chances are most folks will have played a few games of D&D, but don't take this for granted. You may be introducing someone to RPG's in general. (If there are new folks I would explain things at a very high level, then cover things as they come up.)

I recently had someone come to a game a little late. I assume they had played before -- don't assume. This fellow had never played any table top RPG. You need to react differently to such players then to experienced ones. I probably gave this fellow a bad impression of RPGs.

3. Be excited about the game you run!

Excitement is contagious. Stand up, sit down, wave your arms. Use evocative but concise language. If your gaming with someone who's first language is not english, be a little simpler in your descriptions.

4. Pacing and timing.